Eat a Live Frog Every Morning

I’m a bit stuck. Like a lot of people, my list of ‘Things To Do’ doesn’t seem to have a bottom and gaping over the precipice of ‘Task 1’ provides a sickening vertigo. Scattered in amongst the list are some fairly daunting hurdles. Cumbersome chores which require maximum concentration on my part. Chores that have been scattered in amongst the list for some time.

The longer you leave a task and procrastinate around it – the bigger, uglier and more draining that task becomes. It sits there festering in plain sight. Oozing and maturing into a hyperbolic hieroglyph of its former self.

Having not been myself for quite some time, I decided to turn to the ever-wise and all-knowing Google to give me the tools I need to dig myself out of this rut and get back on track.

Today, Google spat out something quite brilliant. An old quote from Mark Twain:

“If you eat a live frog first thing in the morning, you can go through the rest of the day knowing the worst is behind you”

The above alludes to the notion of ridding oneself of the most ghastly obstacle that is required of them on their agenda first allowing for their other tasks to gain a better sense of perspective. By eating your ‘frog’ in the morning (i.e. doing your worst task first), you can continue in the knowledge that the rest of the day will be far better in comparison.

This is a simple but lovely concept which has been masterminded into a self-help book authored by Brain Tracy entitled ‘Eat That Frog! 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time’. Whilst I haven’t read the book or, indeed, added the purchasing of it to my ‘To Do’ list, I have researched the ideas surrounding it.

My search for answers began with ‘What Successful People Do With The First Hour of Their Work Day’ by Kevin Purdy

…and progressed to a brilliant article and video from Gina Trapani on Fast Company entitled ‘Work Smart: Do Your Worst Task First (Or, Eat A Live Frog Every Morning)’.

I’ve printed out an A4 image of a frog.

My task inked into its back.

I tomorrow morning with my usual workout and 6 mile run before returning home before 9am to eat my very first frog.

Eat a Live Frog Every Morning Paul Martin Advertising Blog

P.S. Apologies for the borderline self-indulgent post but some of you followers, subscribers and passing-by’ers might consider the concept behind eating a ‘frog’ motivational food for thought.

P.P.S. The red-head in the image above is, with great regret, not me.

Leave a Reply...Go on!

